Gangnam Style by Psy

Psy’s Gangnam style- a K-pop sensation

On the 15th of July, 2012, Psy (A South-Korean rapper) released his new single “Gangnam Style” through his YouTube page. This song has become an internet sensation, going viral, accumulating over 200 million views to date and receiving a reign of the YouTube music charts.

The main reason it’s become so popular, besides its humour, catchy riffs and dance moves, is its sharability factor. What seems interesting about this is the trend behind many bizarre videos like this becoming viral. This includes Rebecca Black’s “Friday”, Double Take’s “hot problems, and even videos which aren’t necessarily music videos, such as “Nyan Cat”. This element of popular western culture may have emerged from the upcoming popularity of using social media as a platform for sharing not only what you “you had for breakfast” but also videos like this. Easy sharing enables the discovery of the best from all around the World, without which it would be nigh on impossible become viral, or even remotely successful, using simple talent. This would also make the hilarity of eccentricity more amusing, as it doesn’t take a conscious judgement of talent.

What has taken Gangnam style to another level, however is the fact that celebrities have embraced the craze. For example, Kyle performed the chorus dance routine at one of her shows. Numerous have tweeted about it, with T-pain being the first. Robbie Williams, Josh Groban, Katy Perry, Vanessa Hudgens, Britney Spears, Tom Cruise, Ryan Seacrest, LMFAO, Scooter Braun, James Corden, Darren Criss to name a few have shared the video.

The song is also one of the only videos to receive international success in spite of very little english spoken within it. The riff of the song which includes the words “Oppan Gangnam Steil” translates to English roughly with “Girls, Gangnam style is your big brother”. “Gangnam” is actually the name of a district in Seoul, the capital city of South Korea. This is used in the riff to say that Gangnam is (or at least the “Gangnam style”) is a privilege. That’s funny, a rap in another language with a completely different theme and it’s purpose is still to brag. Typical hip hop.

“K-pop” (an abbreviation of Korean pop) has been a music genre for a significantly long period. It’s main characteristics consist of with less-modern electronic samples, such as the ones used in many songs back in the 80s by artists such as the Pet Shop Boys. Although the genre was already somewhat widely known outside Korea, “Gangnam Style” has risen a lot of awareness towards it. It could potentially be compared to the amount of attention Skrillex’s “Scary monsters and nice sprites” has contributed to the dubstep scene, with the exception of the humorous direction taken in “Gangnam Style”.

Overall, the cheesy Nintendo theme song style instrumental along with eccentric dancing displayed in the chorus (and parts of the video) is exceedingly entertaining. Likewise the creativity and originality is delivered with excellent class.

Gangnam style

Follow Magnetised on Facebook and Twitter.

Or the authors: @tsirkis and @karandahele.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Gangnam Style by Psy

  1. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind
    of clever work and exposure keeps me reading! Keep up the fantastic work.
    I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh
    updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  3. I simply could not leave your web site before suggesting
    that I actually loved the standard info a person supply in your
    visitors? Is going to be again frequently to investigate cross-check new posts

  4. Grant says:

    I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I certainly loved every little bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to check out new stuff you post…

  5. Ken says:

    It’s very simple to find out any topic on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this article at this site.

  6. Your writing style is downright sweet. Like Jd Sallinger.

  7. Alina says:

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day.
    You cann’t believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  8. Nicole completed the look with shiny, shoulder-length waves, shimmery eye makeup, and glossy nude lips.

    Now all that is left is to wait and see who comes out the
    lucky winner. It allows you time to test your market and evaluate your price point.

  9. ortopedia says:

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web site, for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this
    this web page conations really fastidious funny data
    too.

  10. Natisha says:

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  11. Scott Tucker says:

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page,
    as i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this this site conations in fact good
    funny material too.

  12. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think
    we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  13. Drew says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love
    to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

Comment!